Canwest unveils July offerings

The meganet is set to treat viewers to new series and even some themed marathons aimed at keeping 'em on the couch.

The broadcaster has released its July slate, replete with new series and even some themed marathons, not to mention cult classic movies and a slew of specials.


Deja View will air encore presentations of two faves. The first is three days of Three’s Company, airing Saturday to Monday, June 28-30, beginning at 8am ET on the weekend and 11am ET on Monday. The second is a Weddings Marathon that will begin on Sunday, July 13 at 8am ET, and run until July 30, featuring nuptials-themed episodes of The Cosby Show, Roseanne, Three’s Company and All in the Family.

IFC will treat comic book fans to a sci-fi marathon of Who Wants to be a Superhero‘s first season, airing on Tuesday, July 1 at 12pm ET and 9pm ET. Fans can also catch new episodes from the show’s second season on Saturdays at 10am ET as well as new episodes of INK: Alter Egos Exposed on Fridays at 8pm ET.

IFC is also giving viewers the chance to take a stroll down memory lane without ever leaving the couch with a selection of some cult-classic films. On Friday, July 25, Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer will air at 9pm ET, followed by A Clockwork Orange at 12am ET. This Is Spinal Tap will air on Saturday, July 26 at 2:30pm ET, repeated at midnight, followed by The Rocky Horror Picture Show at 6pm ET and Pulp Fiction at 9pm ET. On Sunday, July 27, Fargo will air at 2:30pm ET, with a repeat at midnight, followed by Dazed and Confused at 6pm ET and Evil Dead 2 at 11pm ET.

Showcase is set to run new episodes of Big Love (second season) on Wednesdays at 10pm ET/PT; House, which will air Monday to Thursday at 11pm ET/PT; and Numb3rs, Monday to Thursday at 12am ET/PT.

Nabbing evil-doers is Showcase Action‘s focus in July. The channel will stage a marathon featuring the second season of runaway hit Heroes (a network premiere) on Tuesday, July 1 from 11am to 9pm ET, with an encore presentation at 10pm ET, and half a day’s worth of Cops on Saturday, July 26, airing 10am until 3pm ET.

Viewers will catch a buzz from Showcase Diva‘s marathon featuring the first season of Weeds on Saturday, July 26, from 1pm to 9pm ET. They can also catch new episodes of NCIS, weekdays at 5pm ET, and Joey, weekends at 8am ET.


BBC Canada is set to unveil the Canadian premiere of The Restaurant, airing on Thursdays at 10pm ET/7pm PT, beginning July 7. This new reality series features chef/restaurateur Raymond Blanc, who will give nine couples keys to nine restaurants they must develop from the ground up. The couples will vie for the opportunity to go into business with Blanc through a series of competitions until only one couple remains.

The second season of Saxondale will return on BBC Canada, airing on Saturdays, beginning July 12, at 1am ET/10pm PT.

For those who wonder what’s out there, History Television will present UFO week beginning Monday, July 14 at 8pm ET/PT, and featuring the world broadcast premiere of UFOs: The Secret History. Using CGI technology and witness testimony, the documentary will examine UFO phenomena from the earliest sightings and possible government cover-ups to present-day testimonials.

Several new series will be premiering on National Geographic for the first time in July. The Canadian premiere of Shark Battleground: The Red Triangle, a special examining a stretch of California coastline that’s become known for shark attacks, is set to air on Tuesday, July 1 at 8pm ET/PT.

Dangerous World, a three-part series analyzing the science behind the roads we drive, vacation spots we visit and communities in which we live, is set to have its Canadian premiere on Tuesday, July 1 at 9pm ET/6pm PT.

The Science of Evil, a special set to broadcast for the first time in Canada on Wednesday, July 2 at 9pm ET/6pm PT, will follow scientists as they study the mechanics of moral judgment by mapping patterns in neurological processes to try to determine whether good and evil are fostered in the brain.

The Canadian premiere of Superpride is set to air on Tuesday, July 8 at 8pm ET/PT. The special will follow a specific pride of lions in Tanzania’s Serengeti National Park. On Tuesday, July 15, at 8pm ET/PT, Caught in the Act will air for the first time in Canada. The special examines some of the most astonishing animal behaviour to be caught on camera. And Mysteries of the Moose will bow on Tuesday, July 29 at 8pm ET/PT. The special will follow two young moose families as they navigate through the perils of the Alaskan bush.

National Geographic Canada will also dedicate whole days to furry friends and creepy-crawlies. The The Dog Whisperer marathon is slated for Sunday, July 13 starting at 6am ET/3am PT; and Bug Day is set for Saturday, July 19, beginning at 10am ET/7am PT. Highlights of Bug Day include Killer Bees at 12pm ET/9am PT, Insect Wars at 1pm ET/10am PT and Spider Deadly Love at 4pm ET/1pm PT.

NGC also has new episodes of returning shows. Two new eps from the first season of Planet Mechanics will air on Wednesday, July 2 and Wednesday, July 9 at 8pm ET/PT. New episodes from season three of Naked Science will run on Wednesdays at 9pm ET/PT, beginning on July 16. Lockdown will bow two new episodes from its third season on Thursday, July 24 and Thursday, July 31 at 9pm ET/PT, and four new episodes of Megastructures are set to air on Wednesdays in July at 10pm ET/PT.