Jean-Pierre Blais named chair of CRTC

Blais replaces Leonard Katz, who was serving as interim chair.

The Prime Minister’s office has announced Jean-Pierre Blais as the new chair person of the CRTC, replacing Leonard Katz who had been in the role as acting chairperson since Konrad von Finckenstein’s term ended in January of this year.

Blais’s promotion is effective June 18. He is currently posted with the federal Treasury Board Secretariat, and has served in senior roles at the Department of Canadian Heritage and the CRTC.

As chairperson of the CRTC, Blais will supervise and direct the work and staff and preside at meetings of the Commission, according to the release. He is appointed to a five-year term.