TVB names 2010 board of directors

CTVglobemedia's Rita Fabian and Canwest's Errol Da-Ré return to positions, while Sally Basmajian of CTVglobemedia and Cal Millar of Channel Zero are among newcomers.

The Television Bureau of Canada (TVB) has announced its 2010 board of directors with a host of new faces in the mix.

Theresa Treutler stays on as president of TVB and Rita Fabian of CTVglobemedia will reprise her role as chair. Also returning to the TVB roster is Errol Da-Ré of Canwest in the vice-chair role, Chris McGinley of Canwest as treasurer and Mitch Dent of Rogers Media Television Sales as secretary.

New members include Sally Basmajian and Cal Millar of Channel Zero, while returning members include Bill Hanson of CTVglobemedia, Richard Hiron of Rogers Television, Lori Legault of Canwest, Scott Moore of CBC Television, Jim Nelles of Sun TV and Don Shafer of Astral TV.

Treutler told MiC in an interview yesterday that she thinks the board is well balanced to reflect TVB’s mandate to represent all television, including national, local, conventional and specialty. She added that she hopes the board can help the industry navigate the challenging media environment of 2010.

‘I think that one of the things that the board will focus on is to deal with the changing technological landscape and what that means for television, and how television is going to evolve to keep pace with how the media landscape is changing from a technology standpoint,’ she said.

A recent survey by Ottawa-based Canadian Media Research, ‘The 2009 TV Trends and Quality Survey: A Report on Canadians’ Attitudes toward TV,’ indicated that while 66% of Canadians are satisfied with TV, they are also unwilling to pay for more it and generally do not feel that they are getting good value for their money. The survey also found that Canadians spend an average of 18.8 hours a week watching television.