CTV adds radio simulcast to JUNOs mix

Backed by broadcast sponsors Pontiac, Doritos, TD Canada Trust and Rogers, next month's music awards will hit the air with and without moving pictures.

CTV will simulcast the 2008 JUNO Awards across conventional, specialty, broadband and radio next month. It’s the second consecutive year for the broadband treatment, but the first time CTVglobemedia has added radio to the mix since the network began broadcasting the awards seven years ago with the Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS).

Broadcast sponsors for Canada’s biggest music awards are Pontiac, Doritos, TD Canada Trust and Rogers. Last year’s show attracted an average audience of 912,000 viewers, down significantly from the previous year. (Click here for MiC‘s 2007 coverage).

This year, CTVglobemedia’s CHUM Radio Division will air the JUNOs on radio stations across the country. Hosted by comedian Russell Peters (pictured), the 2008 JUNO Awards airs live on Sunday, April 6 at 8 pm ET from Calgary’s Pengrowth Saddledome (see regional times below).

In addition to the radio simulcast, CHUM Radio will produce a one-hour syndicated red carpet radio special. The arrivals special is a radio companion to eTalk at the JUNOs and will begin one hour before the start of the 2008 JUNO Awards broadcast on CHUM and CTV. The special will be hosted by CHUM FM’s Marilyn Denis along with Meg Tucker and Freeway Frank from Calgary’s Energy 101.5.

The CHUM Radio broadcasts will air on contemporary music stations including 104.5 CHUM FM in Toronto, Vancouver’s The Beat, Kool FM in Victoria, Energy 101.5 in Calgary, The Bounce in Edmonton, Q94 FM in Winnipeg, Energy 99.3 FM in Peterborough, Ont., FLY FM in Kingston, Ont., BOB FM in Ottawa and C100 FM in Halifax.

The 2008 JUNO Awards will make its specialty television debut when MuchMoreMusic begins airing five encore broadcasts of the show on Thursday, April 10 at 8 pm ET.

The two-hour broadcast will feature performances from 15 artists, including Avril Lavigne, Feist, Finger Eleven, Hedley, Jully Black, Measha Brueggergosman and Michael Bublé. Anne Murray will appear in special duet performances with Jann Arden and Sarah Brightman. Aaron Lines, Gord Bamford, Johnny Reid, Paul Brandt and Shane Yellowbird will perform in a special all-country musical tribute to the host city and province.

By region, here’s a list of time slots for the April 6 awards:

Atlantic Canada

8 pm: eTalk at the JUNOS / CHUM Radio Red Carpet Special

9 pm: The 2008 JUNO Awards (LIVE)

1 am: The 2008 JUNO Awards (Encore)

Ontario/Quebec/Manitoba/Saskatchewan/Edmonton/British Columbia

7 pm: eTalk at the JUNOS / CHUM Radio Red Carpet Special

8 pm: The 2008 JUNO Awards (LIVE in Ontario/Quebec)

12 midnight: The 2008 JUNO Awards (Encore)


4 pm: CTV Evening News (LIVE from the Red Carpet)

5 pm: eTalk at the JUNOS / CHUM Radio Red Carpet Special

6 pm: The 2008 JUNO Awards (LIVE)

8 pm: The 2008 JUNO Awards (Encore)

CTV’s JUNO Awards website: www.junos.ctv.ca

Official JUNO Awards website: www.junoawards.ca

CARAS website: www.carasonline.ca