MAOY process and scores

How does our jury decide who wins Media Agency of the Year? Read on to find out about their process and see each agency's ranking.

This year’s Media Agency of the Year competition started with an open call to media agencies across Canada to submit descriptions of their top three media campaigns from the past year.

The agencies invited to participate in the second round were then asked to submit three media campaigns that represented work for three different brands over the previous 12 months. The shortlisted agencies, with their scores, appear below.

After inviting professionals in the media industry to be part of the panel, the judging process began, with each judge awarding each campaign a creativity and strategy score from one to 10. Those who declared conflicts did not score the applicable cases or agencies. The scores were then tallied up and averaged, and the agency with the highest final score was declared the winner.

Judges also chose the Media Director of the Year.

The scores

MediaCom 7.98
Mindshare 7.80
Media Experts 7.74
PHD 7.62
OMD 7.57
Initiative 7.49
Jungle Media 7.47
SMG 7.43
Carat 7.40
UM 7.16
M2 Universal 7.08
Cossette 6.92
MEC 6.81
MPG 6.52
Vizeum 5.55

Media Experts 8.14
MediaCom 8.09
Mindshare 7.74
SMG 7.64
Jungle Media 7.57
Initiative 7.55
PHD 7.40
Carat 7.33
M2 Universal 7.26
Cossette 7.23
OMD 7.22
UM 7.12
MEC 6.87
MPG 6.61
Vizeum 5.71

MediaCom 16.07
Media Experts 15.88
Mindshare 15.54
SMG 15.07
Initiative 15.04 (tie)
Jungle Media 15.04 (tie)
PHD 15.02
OMD 14.79
Carat 14.73
M2 Universal 14.34
UM 14.28
Cossette 14.15
MEC 13.68
MPG 13.13
Vizeum 11.26

Jump to:

Media directors of the year: Terry Horton, VP, media director, Cossette Media and Mark Sherman, founder, owner, executive chairman, Media Experts

Next Media Star: Shahnaz Mawji, supervisor, communications strategy at Carat

MAOY Gold: MediaCom’s innovation evolution

MAOY Silver: Media Experts stays ahead of the curve

MAOY Bronze: Mindshare dives into digital bridging

MAOY Honourable Mention: Starcom’s streak stays alive

MAOY jury